CBSE Syllabus for Class 6 Social Science 2022


CBSE Syllabus for Class 6 Social Science

About Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE):

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) is a national level board of education in India for public and private schools, controlled and managed by the Government of India. Established in 1929 by a resolution of the government, the Board was indeed a bold experiment towards inter-state integration and cooperation in the sphere of secondary education. There are approximately 26,054 schools in India and 240 schools in 28 foreign countries affiliated to the CBSE. All schools affiliated with CBSE follow the NCERT curriculum, especially from classes 9 to 12. The current Chairperson of CBSE is Vineet Joshi IAS.

The constitution of the Board was amended in 1952 to give its present name, the Central Board of Secondary Education. The Board was reconstituted on 1 July 1962 so as to make its services available to students and various educational institutions in the entire country.

The first education board to be set up in India was the Uttar Pradesh Board of High School and Intermediate Education in 1921, which was under the jurisdiction of Rajputana, Central India, and Gwalior. In 1929, the government of India set up a joint Board named Board of High School and Intermediate Education. This included Ajmer, Merwara, Central India, and Gwalior. Later it was confined to Ajmer, Bhopal, and Vindhya Pradesh. In 1952, it became the Central Board of Secondary Education. The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) follows a central syllabus all over India for its students.  The syllabus contains detailed information about the subjects.

CBSE Conducts FA1, FA2, FA3, FA4, SA1, SA2, SA3, SA4 examinations every year usually in the months of August, December, February and May respectively

Class 6 Social Science is divided into three sections: History, Geography, and Civics (Social and Political Life). Students can directly download the PDF solutions from this article. It will help them to gain more knowledge about the topics that are most likely to come in the exam. Students can download the CBSE Class 6 Social Science Syllabus from this article on

CBSE Syllabus Class 6 for Maths 2022

An Overview of Class 6 Social Science CBSE Syllabus

The history course provides students with an overview of how the world came to be and where it all started. They learn a lot about what books teach us, from ancient humans to the earliest towns. After that, we’ll take a look at kingdoms and how early republics and monarchs came to be. Finally, we begin our journey into a new epoch and learn about Ashoka. The whole history part focuses on bringing pupils up to speed on current events.


For students, the civics section is referred to as ‘Social and Political Life I.’ This section is broken down into four sections to cover a variety of topics. It begins with a discussion of diversity and prejudice before moving on to the government and its functions. The students are taught about the Indian democratic system. Then they study about India’s administration in rural and urban areas, as well as facts about Panchayats. Finally, they discover the differences between city and country life.


The book’s final section is devoted to ‘Geography.’ The information about the Solar System is the first step. Students have a fundamental concept of the globe and a map of the world with continents and countries. Finally, kids study about India’s geographical location, as well as its climate, vegetation, and other important features.

CBSE Class 6 Social Science Syllabus for 2021-2022 as per the guidelines of the NCERT is provided below:

Books for Class 6 Social Science

The books that NCERT recommends for Social Science are mentioned below. These books cover the whole NCERT Social Science Syllabus for Class 6 in 2022. To ace their exam preparation, students must consult the NCERT Books.

  • History-our past

  • The Earth – Our Habitat

  • Social and Political Life

How to download NCERT Syllabus for Class 6 Social Science 2022?

To obtain the NCERT Syllabus for Class 6 Social Science pdf online, follow the steps outlined below.

Step 1: Go to, which is the official website.

Step 2 – On the home page, look for the ‘Syllabus I- IIX’ link for the syllabus. Go to the link and click it.

Step 3 – Select ‘Syllabus for primary classes’ from the drop-down menu. Then choose the curriculum for Social Science class 6 from the drop-down menu.

Step 4: The syllabus will appear on your monitors. It’s best if you save it as a PDF.

CBSE Class 6 social science Syllabus

CBSE Class 6 History Syllabus 2021-22


  • Chapter 1 – What, Where, How And When?
  • Chapter 2 – From Hunting – Gathering To Growing Food
  • Chapter 3 – In The Earliest Cities
  • Chapter 4 – What Books And Burials Tell Us
  • Chapter 5 – Kingdoms, Kings And An Early Republic
  • Chapter 6 – New Questions And Ideas
  • Chapter 7 – Ashoka, The Emperor Who Gave Up War
  • Chapter 8 – Vital Villages, Thriving Towns
  • Chapter 9 – Traders, Kings And Pilgrims
  • Chapter 10 – New Empires And Kingdoms
  • Chapter 11 – Buildings, Paintings And Books

CBSE Class 6 Civics Syllabus 2021-22

  • Chapter 1 – Understanding Diversity
  • Chapter 2 – Diversity and Discrimination
  • Chapter 3 – What is Government?
  • Chapter 4 – Key Elements of a Democratic Government
  • Chapter 5 – Panchayati Raj
  • Chapter 6 – Rural Administration
  • Chapter 7 – Urban Administration
  • Chapter 8 – Rural Livelihoods
  • Chapter 9 – Urban Livelihoods

CBSE Class 6 Geography Chapters – The Earth: Our Habitat

  • Chapter 1 – The Earth in the Solar System
  • Chapter 2 – Globe: Latitudes and Longitudes
  • Chapter 3 – Motions of the Earth
  • Chapter 4 – Maps
  • Chapter 5 – Major Domains of the Earth
  • Chapter 6 – Major Landforms of the Earth
  • Chapter 7 – Our Country: India
  • Chapter 8 – India: Climate, Vegetation and Wildlife

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ’s) regarding CBSE 6th Class Social Question Papers:

How many sections are there in CBSE 6th Class Social Science?

CBSE social studies section mainly consists of three subjects namely History, Geography and Civics (Social and Political Life).

What are the topics included in the CBSE 6th Class Civics Subject?

  • Diversity
  •  Government
  •  Local Government
  •  Making a Living

What are the topics included in CBSE 6th Class Geography Syllabus?

  • Planet
  • Globe
  • Maps
  • Four realms of the earth
  • Major relief features of the earth
  • India in the world

What are the topics Included in CBSE 6th class History syllabus ?

  • When, Where and How
  • The Earliest Societies
  • The First Farmers and Herders
  • The First Cities
  • Different Ways of Life
  • Early States
  • New Ideas
  • The First Empire
  • Life in towns and villages
  • Contacts with Distant lands
  • Political Developments
  • Culture and Science

What is difference between formative and Summative assessment?

They are both essential parts of any curriculum map. But what do they actually mean? In a nutshell, formative assessments are quizzes and tests that evaluate how someone is learning material throughout a course. Summative assessments are quizzes and tests that evaluate how much someone has learned throughout a course.

What is SA and FA?

Formative Assessment (FA) and Summative Assessment (SA) in CCE, Formative Assessment (FA) is a tool used by the teacher to continuously monitor a student’s progress in a non–threatening, supportive environment.

What is the minimum qualifying mark to qualify in the CBSE 6th Class examination?

Candidates should secure minimum 33% of marks to qualify in the examination.

Leave a Comment